Apprenticeships in kindness

The Roman poet Ovid said “cruelty toward animals is the apprenticeship of cruelty against men”. (I know this because I subscribe to a quote site that sends me a linguistic gem every day or so.) I don’t know when he said or wrote those words, but Ovid was a much older – and much less ascetic – contemporary of Christ. While the golden rule of moral behaviour was described by Jesus as doing unto other (humans) as you would have them do unto you, Ovid said it first and said it better: think about the animals because they share our world. If the Roman record of spectacular and unconcealed cruelty toward humans and animals has not been exaggerated, he had ample opportunity to observe the truth of his dictum.

From what I’ve learned in formal and informal settings, including a seminar given by a lawyer of the Animal Legal Defense Fund, physical abuse and degradation of animals is a well-documented precursor and partner crime to the physical abuse of fellow humans. So much so that it’s essentially become self-evident, and while I’m sure that there are many murderers and assaulters of humans out there who have never attacked an animal, it’s easy to see how a child could learn (most often by example, sometimes by being the victim) to inflict cruelty to animals prior to becoming a serial abuser of both humans and animals.

Still, and thankfully, I don’t have any direct experience with that kind of individual extreme. The kind of abuse I’ve had more personal experience with is the normalised and occulted type of abuse that we’ve concocted for animals in factories and slaughterhouses; the type of abuse that’s been removed as far as possible from general view so as not to disturb our consciences or appetites. And even that has become pretty much self-evident, thanks to the work of writers and activists over the past couple of decades. (I’m reading Jonathan Safran Foer’s Eating Animals right now, which could be the subject of so many posts…but instead I encourage everyone to read it; he really says it all and from so many different viewpoints.)

While this focus on cruelty is important, I also find it emotionally and physically draining to dwell on it passively. It is briefly horrifying, then permanently depressing, to think that as humans, we have always excelled at cruelty, whether it be through wars, unjust politics, plunder of civilisations and habitats, or the scale and efficiency of the system we have devised to raise and kill our animals.

So I’d like to turn Ovid’s clear-eyed observation around. I say that kindness toward animals is the apprenticeship of kindness toward men. Taken that way, kindness is both a learning process and an end in itself. There is no pitting of animal interests against ours, no hierarchy of concern except to observe that it is in fact easier to be kind to animals than to humans – it’s something that you would teach a child to do before he can learn the more difficult task of being kind to other humans (l’enfer, c’est nous autres…)

I have a new apprenticenship in kindness that I started last September. I’m still very excited about it, and I wish I’d had the energy to devote to writing about it as I went through the very beginning stages. In the coming days and weeks I hope to be more of a faithful scribe.

Explore posts in the same categories: animal rights, animal welfare, history, human-animal bond

7 Comments on “Apprenticeships in kindness”

  1. skdadl Says:

    Ooh! A cliffhanger! brebis noire, I attend the next instalment attentively. *wink*

    It’s hard to write about something so important that is sometimes also so painful to think about. Thank you for keeping your calm and steady focus on our sometimes glorious but often troubled relationships with animals.


  2. I love that turnaround about kindness. I’m waiting for the rest of the story!


  3. Hi, you have a nice blog. I also have a page about animals which, although in Germany but the top left is a menu English but also you can read everything in english. Greetings from Germany 🙂


  4. Hi, I like your blog, I have BKH and Scottish Fold, but manageable just look at my homepage. Best regards from Lower Saxony (Germany)

  5. Gunnar Says:

    I agree we should all be kind to animals or any life as far as that is concerned. You did a nice job.

  6. haleybrown12 Says:

    The user often faces the Outlook error 0x800ccc92. So, in this post, we have addressed the cause of this error and also show you how to fix Microsoft Outlook error code 0x800CCC92 using both manual and automated methods. There are several drawbacks to using the manual form. As a result, the user will recover data from the damaged PST file using the Outlook File Recovery program.Bellen Outlook Klantenservice

  7. Elinathomas Says:

    On the contrary, if Facebook disabled your account directly, you must submit an account recovery request to Facebook to get information about Facebook disabled account recovery………………………………….Facebook Bellen


Leave a comment